Friday, June 25, 2010

Split in Brahma Samaj

Debendranath Tagore reorganised the Brahma Samaj in 1843.Keshab Chandra Sen was another great follower of Brahma Samaj. He was deeply influenced by Christianity. Gradually a rift developed between the old conservative group of the Brahma Samaj and the reformers led by Keshab Chandra Sen. Ultimately, there was a split. The old party led by Debendranath Tagore came to be known as the Adi Brahmo Samaj. In 1868, Keshab Chandra Sen founded the Brahmo Samaj of India. In 1878, the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was founded by Anand Mohan Bose and Shivanatha Shastri as a reaction against the violation of the Native Marriage Act by Keshab Chandra Sen.

No comments:

Post a Comment